Country Roads, Dusty Tracks

16 Dec

If you haven’t already, check out my best of 2010.

It’s time to head home for Christmas break – which means old friends and older family. For some the proposition sounds forlorn, invoking feelings dreary ardor; to an extent, I fall into this category (but to an extent I couldn’t be happier).

There is a certain ambivalence to going home – nothing beats the feeling of refuge the house you’ve grown up in provides, but sometimes the sense of belonging and comfort can be overshadowed by an inexplicable haunting state of lack. There seems to be a certain nostalgic constraint placed on your emotions when returning home, restricting your pleasure within a bubble; teasing you with an unreachable abode of completeness.

Maybe it’s just me, maybe I’m just messed up, and maybe I’m wrong. Either way, I’m going, and I need some music to be my accompaniment.

Anyways, without further ado, here is (part of) my playlist for the train ride home:

Friendly Fires – Paris:

Local Natives – Who Knows Who Cares:

Coldplay – Strawberry Swing:

Vampire Weekend – Oxford Comma:

David Bowie – Life On Mars:

Fleet Foxes – Mykonos:

The National – Fake Empire:

Steely Dan – Only A Fool Would Say That:

Empire of the Sun – Half Mast:

Bon Iver – Re: Stacks:

The XX – Basic Space:

Elbow – Grounds for Divorce:

Blur – Sing:

Animal Collective – Daily Routine:

Bloc Party – This Modern Love:

Death Cab for Cutie – Soul Meets Body:

Oasis – She’s Electric:

The Beatles – A Day in the Life:

One Response to “Country Roads, Dusty Tracks”

  1. smellycat March 24, 2012 at 5:52 am #

    Just wanted to say you’re not alone in feeling this way. My emotions and experiences are numbed as well when I’m back home. At the same time, the train rides to and fro are also polar opposites. For me, they are unique emotional roller-coasters, that’s why I find the music selection really important. I was looking for some new songs for tomorrow’s trip, but I already have most of them on already. Anyway, it was nice to read a fellow traveler’s impressions. I wish you lots of pleasant rides!

Leave a Reply

