It’s Real

21 Oct

I’m starting to put together some preliminary ‘best of’ lists.

The most recent addition to my playlist was (the short but sweet) ‘It’s Real’ by Real Estate. It’s one of those songs that embodies everything this blog is about. It’s simple feel good music that makes not tapping your foot on the bus or not mouthing the words while walking through campus seem impossible.

It’s the kind of song my dad would get excited about when I was 10. The kind of song he would premiere on the way to a hockey game or put on repeat during a ride to school. And while I would pretend not to like it (because for unknown reasons, I refuse to give him that pleasure – even to this day); inevitably, I did.

There is no flashy polish or excess babble – it’s just music that gets your butterflies floating.

That in mind, I find it hard to imagine any other song taking the ‘Best Track of 2011’ title. Time will tell.

Enjoy.

Real Estate – It’s Real:

One Response to “It’s Real”

  1. Dixon Cordell (@dixoncordell) October 21, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    I am such a fan. Real Estate can say everything or nothing at all and they still hit the nail on the head. A fine choice.

Leave a Reply

